Lecanto High School, LHS News 12 and Legacy Yearbook
Don't Miss

District Track Meet

Sunlake High School narrowly defeated host Lecanto High School 145 to 143 to win the Florida 3A-7 girls district track meet. Land O’Lakes High School won the boys title. The Lecanto’s boys’ team finished fourth with 84.5 points.

Although the Panthers were not the outright winners of the track meet, several Lecanto athletes became district champions or were in the top four of their events and will advance to the regional track meet. That meet will be held on April 29 in Lakeland.

Harrison Manke won the discuss with a throw of 120 feet, 8 inches. Manke also won the shot put with a put of 39 feet 3.25 inches.

Ally Thomasson won the triple jump with a distance of 36 feet 5.5 inches, and the long jump with a leap of 17 feet. Panther Dakota Solomon won the long jump event.

Greg Buettner cleared the bar at 6 feet 5 inches, which earned him the district championship as well as a Lecanto High School record. Buettner led the Panthers by qualifying for the regionals in four different events. Buettner came in second in the 800 meter run. He also qualified in the 4×400 and 4x 800 relay events.

Pop McPhee came in second in the high jump, and won the long jump by jumping 20 feet 10.5 inches.

Danielle VanQuelef won the 100 meter hurdle event with a time of 17.2 seconds.

Megan Everidge won the pole vault with an 8 feet vault. Catherine Schlabach came in second. Dakota Solomon came in fourth in the pole hault. He also won the triple jump with a distance of 43 feet 5.25 inches.

The girls 4×400 relay team consisting of Anna Buettner, Kelley Sullivan, Katie Van Cleef and Ellen Farnsworth came in third place with a 11 minute run and qualified for the regionals.

Breise Teitleman, Peyton Burdette, Liz-Beth Chiavetta, Madison Messer, and Abby Taylor also qualified for the regionals by placing third in the 4×800.

Dana Houp qualified with her 4 feet 8 inch third place high jump.

OK Nkwocha came in second in the 400 with a 52.73 run.

Logan Delehanty, Grant Griffen, Osirus Patrick, Sean Murray qualified for the boys regional.